Trekking Mount Ulriken in Snow

On April 13th, 2013 I’d used Captain Lawrence Oates‘s famous last words from 1912 on my Greenygrey blog. Suffering from injuries, Oates walked into the Antarctic cold to try and help the rest of the Terra Nova expedition, reportedly telling them he ‘may be some time.’

On May 4th, 2013 that quote and my use of it returned to me, as I scaled Mount Ulriken and walked into thick snow and cloud. My situation was just similar enough to remind me. I cannot claim that the scale of my expedition and problems were anywhere near as massive as the Terra Nova expedition.

Mount Ulriken Videos and Photos

I’d been planning to trek some of the paths on Mount Ulriken on my last day in Bergen, and my guide book said they were well-marked, so I didn’t let the thick cloud and snow stop me.

It worked out well, and I enjoyed the couple of hours I spent in isolation. My feet were cold and wet after falling through thick snow into streams, but adrenalin and imagination fuelled my top half.

I started filming the water, and made it into a five-part Ulriken water video sequence; starting from the top like the water itself, and down to a bridge where I last sighted it.

Mount Ulriken: Before the Water
Mount Ulriken: Finding Water
Mount Ulriken: Little Waterfall
Mount Ulriken: Stronger Waterfall
Mount Ulriken: End of the Waterfall

Here’s some photos:

Mount Ulriken Snow Photos

Climbing Mount Ulriken for second time.
Runner races ahead as I climb Mount Ulriken for second time.
A lone spider on the snowbound Mount Ulriken.
A lone spider on the snowbound Mount Ulriken.
Penguin long way from home.
Penguin long way from home.
Cloud clears to reveal a cabin in 'Christmas Card' setting.
Cloud clears to reveal a cabin in ‘Christmas Card’ setting.
Route signpost.
Route signpost.
Descending from the top, finding more water and vegetation.
Descending from the top, finding more water and vegetation.

Marc Latham’s central site is the Greenygrey (http://www.greenygrey.co.uk), and he has books available on Smashwords and Amazon (http://www.amazon.com/author/marclatham).

 

Leave a Reply

