France Travel: Dinard Airport to Saint-Malo Hike

My 25th anniversary tour started well over a year ago now, when I decided to visit Brittany, France in early September. I have a TravelThruHistory website article about the trip published already, so will just expand on it here, and use some more photos from each day.

Dinard Flight, Saint-Malo Walk

I flew from Leeds-Bradford to Dinard airport, and walked the 7.5 miles/12km to Saint-Malo. It was mainly because I’d read there were no buses (there is a bus between Saint-Malo and Dinard town, and then a short walk to the airport, which I did for the return journey). However, I also wanted to relive some of my hoboing from my first trip, when I did a lot of walking in France between lifts, although the hitching was excellent. It was also a beautiful day.

It was a nice walk over the Rance estuary. I passed a fallen fox early in the walk, and thought it could be interpreted as being symbolic of my travelling milestone; but knew it was really just an unlucky wild animal on a busy road.

I followed my written-out directions well until reaching Saint-Malo, but then followed a sign into Saint-Malo too early, and took a little while to find the F1 hotel on the edge of the southern half of town.

The consolation was that I passed an Aldi supermarket, and after checking in I returned there to buy some cheap strong beer, bread and brie; which I consumed under a tree watching the sun set on a sultry evening. There had been many such evenings on my first trip in 1987, although not usually with so much beer!

Here’s some photos from the flight and walk, which you can enlarge by clicking:

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

France2012 013

Marc Latham’s central site is the Greenygrey (http://www.greenygrey.co.uk), and he has books available on Smashwords and Amazon (http://www.amazon.com/author/marclatham).

Leave a Reply

