Hiking Inland from Faro, Portugal

On the Sunday I went for a stroll inland. I enjoyed the quiet roads and strong sunshine, so continued farther than intended. I could see a town in the distance, just before the mountains that constituted the horizon (as seen in the second photo). So I carried on to Conceicao, which took a couple of hours.

Faro-Conceicao, Portugal Hike

I did that for no other reason than because I was enjoying the walk, and its position at the end of the plain provided a tempting target distance.

I had avoided the beach because it was a bus ride away from Faro, and sun cream was very expensive. I’d thought I could gradually brown, but by the time I reached Conceicao I was already burning!

The last bus back to Faro was leaving just after I arrived. I didn’t take it. I walked around the village, seeing the crowd after a church service (penultimate photo), and some mansion gardens that were closed (last photo).

I had a couple of beers in a cafe and hiked back, sheltering my face and neck from the sun as much as possible! It had been a nice day and walk, but I was left with a red face!!

summer 2011 098 summer 2011 106 summer 2011 103 summer 2011 105 summer 2011 112summer 2011 108summer 2011 119 summer 2011 120 summer 2011 122

Marc Latham’s central site is the Greenygrey (http://www.greenygrey.co.uk), and he has books available on Smashwords and Amazon (http://www.amazon.com/author/marclatham).

Leave a Reply

