Daily Archives: October 11, 2017

greenYgrey Mistake

If I made a mistake in naming Great Britain (Blighty) a ‘Great greenYgrey island’, in answer to Bill Bryson’s ‘small island’ book title, it was that I underestimated how greenYgrey Great the rest of the world is, therefore making the description unspecific. Therefore, as I am only the original self-titled coffilosopher, rather than the original coffilosopher, or probably the best, either in coffilosophy creation or coffee consumption (I have since naming myself such read Patti Smith’s M Nights memoir, and she’s a real coffee connoisseur, as well as legendary musician and award-winning writer (I must unfortunately add that I thought my XaW Files: Beyond Humanity is better than M Nights!: for concept, writing and philosophy, although her life story is more interesting and accomplished!!), I think of Britain as Original greenYgrey rather than Great or Greatest.

I was reminded of that thought this morning when I saw the Microsoft screensaver from Luoping, China, and followed it up to find fourteen more great greenYgreys filling the screen. So I made a screensave, and it is presented below. I was lucky to visit south-west China in early 1991, as some parts were opening up to the world, and the limestone stacks around Guilin and Yangshuo is one of my favourite landscapes I’ve seen; I was reminded of it on east coast of Yorkshire this year, initially inspired to visit by the birdlife from Bempton to Bridlington. Here’s the screensave:

Screenshot (235)

